What becomes a Legend most?

This question was asked in an advertising campaign for Black Glama furs during the 70’s. For me, this is the question that kept running in my head while shooting the legendary Chris Collins of Major Model Management. When you are a minority, you are always searching for that ‘someone’ that is doing IT in whatever profession that you are pursuing or interested in. As a young strapping handsome young man (I had to go there, right?), I looked everywhere. And, one of the men that stood out for me was Chris Collins. Chris was discovered in a mall in New Jersey on the heels of the Tyson Beckford blitz of the 90’s. And, for the past 14 years, Chris has been a working model albeit at Boss and, now, the iconic Major Models. For any male model to work as long as Chris is more than an achievement. But, for a Black male model, it is almost unheard of. We shot about 8 to 10 looks in one hour and a half. It was interesting watching him watch me set up my light.

And, then, see how he would position himself, ask questions, and ask for another ‘take’ after reviewing his work. And, the killer part of all of this is that he hasn’t aged a day. I mean, he looks exactly the same. And, trust me, I know that I fawn all over the models that I shoot on my blog but this was different. I have had the honor shooting someone that I have known from my younger days before. And, let’s just say, that shoot wasn’t so great. So, this was refreshing to know that Chris was humble and very open. He made himself vulnerable. I learned a lot. Okay, now, I am one blog post from sounding like Oprah. Positive energy in the universe is a must. And, smile. It is President’s Day . . . how fitting.

For my salutations and notes: I can’t thank Sanam at Major enough for setting this up. And, Debra G for pulling clothes for me to style. And, of course, thank you to Chris for letting me ask you a thousand questions about your life. Honestly, I learned a lot.

Leave a Reply

